Pumpkin Scones

21 Oct

When I saw this recipe for Pumpkin Scone’s on Pennies on A Platter I told myself that I would be making this very soon. I think I ended up making these a few days later! That’s how good the recipe sounded! And they were much more affordable than going to Starbucks and buying one! Not to mention they were soft and delicious.

Speaking of Starbucks, I had their pumpkin latte for the first time this season (SHOCKER!) and I have to say I was disappointed in the flavor. Last year I devoured Starbucks Pumpkin Latte’s by the gallon and it just didn’t have that umph! of flavor anymore! Now, Dunkin’ Donuts on the other hand? A-freaking-mazing. I also recently bought a bunch of Green Mountain Pumpkin Spice Coffee K-Cups for my Keurig coffee maker and I have been a very happy camper since.

Did I mention how much I love this time of year? Best.Season.Ever. If our dating anniversary didn’t happen to fall on a weekend I totally would have gotten married in October. But I was impatient, to say the least.

Pumpkin Scones

Recipe Source: Pennies on A Platter

For the scones:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 7 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves (I used allspice)
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 6 Tbsp cold butter
  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin
  • 3 Tbsp half-and-half
  • 1 large egg

For the Sugar Glaze:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons milk

For the Spiced Glaze:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 Tbsp milk
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp ginger
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves

Preheat oven to 425˚F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.  Use a pastry blender or food processor to cut in the butter until the mixture is crumbly in texture and resembles coarse cornmeal.

In a small bowl, whisk together the pumpkin, half and half, and egg.  Fold into the dry ingredients until barely combined.  It is very important not to over mix the batter.  At this point it should still be kind of dry and crumbly.

Loosely form the dough into a ball.  Pat it into a 1-inch thick, 9″x3″ rectangle onto a lightly floured surface.

Use a sharp knife to slice the dough through it’s width into three equal portions. Cut each section diagonally to produce 6 triangular slices of dough.  (Or, you can slice “X’s” in each section to form 12 triangles.)

Place each slice on prepared baking sheet and bake for 14 – 16 minutes, until the scones are golden brown.

Let cool completely on wire rack. In the meantime, add the ingredients for both the sugar and spice glaze, adding more sugar to make it thicker or milk to thin it out. Drizzle glazes onto the cooled scones.

Consume immediately. Maybe spread on some Apple Butter to make this even more delicious.

4 Responses to “Pumpkin Scones”

  1. pag41989 October 21, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    That looks delicious!

  2. Southern Elle October 22, 2010 at 4:42 am #

    I joined the pumpkin scone revolution myself this week! They didn’t look as good as yours though…

  3. Lisa S. October 22, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    These look delicious and I may just be making these myself soon!

  4. Claudia November 4, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    this is a great recipe I made them too love them!

Leave a Reply

