Pumpkin Granola

7 Oct

I can’t really remember the last time I bought granola. It has to be at least 6 months. Ever since I saw a recipe for homemade granola in an issue of Bon Appetit magazine, I knew I would never be buying granola again. And really, why should you buy granola? Granola is expensive! Seriously, I don’t think I’ve seen a box of granola for less than $5 (one that tastes good at least). It’s a little ridiculous. Store bought granola has a lot of extra crap that doesn’t need to be in there. I love know exactly what I’m putting into my granola when I make it. I also like being able to pronounce all the ingredients.

This particular recipe is perfect for fall. In my usual granola recipes I like to use apple sauce to really bind everything together. In this case I used canned pumpkin and it did the trick splendidly. The granola I make isn’t too sweet so feel free to add more sugar if you like.

Pumpkin Granola

  • 4 cups oats
  • 1/2 walnuts
  • 1/4 cup wheat germ
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/2 allspice
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar

Preheat oven to 275. Combine all ingredients in one big bowl.

I recommend using your hands to mix everything together that way it is combined fully. Plus it’s fun to get your hands dirty.

After it’s been combined, spray a large baking pan and spread the granola on the pan. Bake for a total f 40-60 minutes, or until the granola is dry and dark, making sure to mix every 20 minutes.

I love granola as a pre-run snack, with ice cream, and Mr. Kitchen Misfit has his granola every morning with yogurt. It’s so incredibly simple to make, I’m upset I didn’t start earlier. Give it a try, and you’ll find yourself never buying granola again!

5 Responses to “Pumpkin Granola”

  1. Michelle October 7, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    I love eating granola with cottage cheese for breakfast. This would definitely be a great flavor for fall!

  2. Lizzy October 11, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    Looks like a great recipe. I love pumpkin and I like granola. Im gluten free so hopefully this works without the wheat germ!

    • kitchenmisfit October 11, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

      It definitely does. I just like to add it for extra nutrients, but it totally works without it too!

  3. Michael Beyer September 19, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Great granola idea! I love pumpkin. I’m thinking about making some granola with fresh cranberries and apples.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin and maple granola « LOVES TO EAT - October 14, 2010

    […] over yogurt! I even added a bit to my oatmeal and cereal. I love this mixture. I found the recipe here, but below are my […]

Leave a Reply

