Meatball Pizza

2 Oct

Remember those turkey meatballs I blogged about a few months back? I make them A LOT and I always forget to cut down the recipe so I end up with way too many meatballs I don’t even know what to do with them anymore. So I decided to make them into a pizza!

I mean, why settle for boring spaghetti and meatballs or meatball subs when you can have meatball pizza? You really shouldn’t even think twice before making this pizza. I love making homemade pizza because it’s simple and the possibilities are only limited by your imagination.

Meatball Pizza

  • 6-8 turkey pesto meatballs (or meatballs of your choosing), sliced
  • 1 green pepper, sliced
  • 1 small yellow onion, sliced
  • your favorite pizza dough
  • pizza sauce
  • sliced mozzarella
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • garlic powder and oregano to taste

Preheat oven to 475 degrees. Saute onions and peppers in saute pan on medium high heat and flavor with seasonings listed above. I like to bake my pizza crust for about 10 minutes before adding my toppings, it prevents and liquids from leaking and I think it makes the crust crunchier.

Ladle on your pizza sauce and then add sliced meatballs to the pizza.

Then add the peppers and onions.

And finally the sliced mozzarella.

Bake for an additional 12-15 minutes, or until the mozzarella starts to brown.

Let pizza cool for a few minutes, cut, serve and consume immediately.

2 Responses to “Meatball Pizza”

  1. Lisa S. October 2, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    Looks delicious Amanda! I make turkey meatballs too and I love the idea to use them for pizza. Do you make your own pizza dough, or do you buy it? The crust you have on this pizza looks amazing!

    • kitchenmisfit October 2, 2010 at 11:24 am #

      I make my pizza dough, it’s so easy! I use the recipe from the King Arthur Flour website.

Leave a Reply

