Portland: A Recap, Part 2

20 Sep

Um, excuse me….can someone tell me where September went!? I swear it was only Labor Day Weekend yesterday, and now we are almost in October? I don’t understand it, but I’ll tell you, I can’t WAIT for September to be over, I feel like I haven’t had a moment’s peace.

Before we return to our regularly scheduled programming, I wanted to finish telling you all about all of the fabulous places we went to in Portland.

First up is a place that I have been wanting to go to forever. Duck Fat. Fries fried in DUCK.FAT. I mean COME ON, really? Do you need to even ASK me twice?

We first started off with some house made cream soda and black raspberry lemonade. The cream soda was a little watery for my taste and the lemonade was wonderfully tart and refreshing.

We decided to share an order of poutine and the ratatouille panini. If you’ve never had poutine before, you should try it. Fries, cheese curds and gravy, again, why wouldn’t you want to try it?

It was a little expensive at $6.00 but it was really amazing. Next time I want to have just the fries and the many dipping sauces that they have.

The panini was also really really good. We made ratatouille a few weeks ago and this was definitely reminiscent of that dish, only in sandwich form.

And finally, on to dessert. Blessed, lovely, amazing, dessert. One word. Beignets. Another word. Chocolate. Two more words. Cinnamon sugar. Oh.My.Goodness.Gracious.

Go ahead and wipe the drool off the computer.

Soft pillowy doughy goodness. This picture does not do the beignets justice. Not at all. Go to Portland. Have the beignets. You’ll not be sorry.

On our last day in Portland we stopped at the Public Market House. This s a place I deeply deeply want in Boston. If we had this in Boston, I would be there 24/7.

Yeah, that's right, it's peanut butter jelly time

We got lunch at Pie in the Sky. I had the BBQ Chicken pizza and Mr. Kitchen Misfit had the sausage and basil pizza. Perfect portions and it was delicious.

It was a great way to end the weekend in Portland. I was very surprised that there were so many delicious places to go in Portland, it makes me excited to go back again.

One Response to “Portland: A Recap, Part 2”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in Review « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit - December 31, 2010

    […] September Joe and I visited Portland, ME. Check out the recap here and here. We had such a great time and will definitely be visiting […]

Leave a Reply

