Daring Cook’s: Apple a Day

14 Sep

I’ve always been intrigued by canning. However, I was also a little terrified. I mean, it seems like there are so many rules you have to abide by and there are so many opportunities for something to go wrong. So I was rather excited and anxious all at the same time when I saw this month’s Daring Cooks challenge which was food preservation and canning. I decided to go with apple butter because it is delicious and I came up with about 25 different ways of using it.

Who doesn't love delicious apples?

I did a search for apple butter and came up with this recipe from Simply Recipes. I halved the recipe since I didn’t want to make a lot of apple butter, and I ended up making about 4 jars with a little more left over. So without further ado, Apple Butter!

The September 2010 Daring Cooks’ challenge was hosted by John of Eat4Fun. John chose to challenge The Daring Cooks to learn about food preservation, mainly in the form of canning and freezing. He challenged everyone to make a recipe and preserve it. John’s source for food preservation information was from The National Center for Home Food Preservation.

Apple Butter

Recipe adapted from Simply Recipes

  • 2lbs of apples (I used Fuji)
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 cup water
  • Sugar (See below notes)
  • Salt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • rind and juice of 1 lemon

Cut the apples into quarters, leaving the skin and core alone. Cut out any damaged parts. Put them into a large pot, add the water and vinegar, and cook until the apples are soft, about 20 minutes. Mash the apples and using a sieve extract as much puree as you can. Use a pestle or something similar to get all the goodness out. Measure the amount of puree and add a 1/2 cup of sugar per cup of puree.

I had about 5 cups so I added 2.5 cups of sugar. Then add the rest of ingredients and taste to make sure it is to your liking. Here comes the part where A LOT of patience is needed. Cook, uncovered, in a large thick-bottomed pot on medium low heat, stirring constantly to prevent burning. Cook until thick and smooth (about 1-2 hours).

Now onto the canning. I’m kicking myself for not taking pictures but I’ll try to be as specific as possible. First I took my canning equipment and sterilized them by placing everything in a 200 degree oven and baking for 10 minutes. I took some boiling water and submerged the tops of the cans in the boiling water. Then I VERY CAREFULLY poured the delicious butter in. I brought a huge pot of water to boil and using tin foil since I did not have a canning rack, I very carefully submerged the cans into the boiling water, making sure that they did not touch. I let them boil for about 10 minutes and then removed the cans. Within about 5 minutes I heard the beautiful *POP* of the lids being sealed and voila!

I have to admit, it was a lot easier than I ever thought it would be. I can’t wait to use up the delicious apple butter! Look for some upcoming recipes! And I can’t wait to can again!

5 Responses to “Daring Cook’s: Apple a Day”

  1. Kerri Oberhauser September 14, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Honey!!! Let me know when you want to do this sort of thing. I am totally about delving into canning, and making butters. And, I have a dishwasher, that can sterilize. Add to that, I am in Apple Country. And, have a hot tub, to boot.

    Add all that up = WIN!!!!

    By the way, great post!

    • kitchenmisfit September 14, 2010 at 11:12 am #

      Sounds awesome. I REALLY want to make some jam, it would be awesome to go apple/peach picking and pick up some peaches to can. It’s a date!

  2. Kocinera September 14, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

    Ooooh, I love the color of your apple butter! It looks so rich and delicious. Great job on this challenge!

  3. outoftheoven September 15, 2010 at 6:55 am #

    Great job tackling the canning! Your apple butter looks fantastic!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin Scones « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit - October 21, 2010

    […] immediately. Maybe spread on some Apple Butter to make this even more […]

Leave a Reply

