Meyer Lemon Bars

11 Aug

I love lemons. They are one of my favorite ingredients to use in cooking and baking. Since becoming a more avid baker/cook I’ve discovered meyer lemons. What are meyer lemons? Meyer lemons to me are a delicious combination of orange and lemon. Sweeter and more fragrant that regular lemons, they are great to use in a dessert. When I found them at a recent trip to Whole Foods I immediately grabbed some.

Mr. Kitchen Misfit’s Mom was having a BBQ for his birthday and I decided to use up my meyer lemons. I Googled extensively and found a great recipe for meyer lemon bars. I have to say, they were a huge hit and there were only 4 measly little bars left. I say that’s a successful recipe.

Meyer Lemon Bars

Adapted from Closet Cooking

For the crust

  • 1/2 cup unsalted room temperature butter
  • 1/4 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/8 tsp salt

For the lemon filling

  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup meyer lemon juice (about 2 lemons)
  • 1 tbsp grated lemon zest (about 2 lemons)
  • 2 tbsp all purpose flour
  • confectioners sugar, for dusting

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream the butter and sugar in a mixing bowl. Mix in the flour and salt until it comes together. Press down into a greased 8-inch pan, using the back of a spoon to even it out. Bake until golden brown, about 20 minutes.

In a separate bowl, mix eggs and sugar until smooth. Mix in lemon juice and zest. Mix in the flour and pour onto crust. Bake until set, about 20 minutes. Let cool and sprinkle with confectioners sugar. Cool completely before cutting and serving.

I may have found a new love. His name is Meyer.

One Response to “Meyer Lemon Bars”

  1. Teri August 11, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

    I think these are the best lemon bars I’ve had. They aren’t puckery tart. They were sweet/tart and very delicious!!!!

Leave a Reply

