Stuffed Zucchini & Why Farmers Markets are Awesome

3 Aug

I love Farmer’s Markets. They make me really happy. Just knowing, 100% that I’m supporting local businesses makes my heart go a-flutter. I’m always insanely jealous of cities that have huge public markets, such as San Francisco, Philadelphia, and Seattle. When I visited Toronto I was in awe of the St. Lawrence Market and when I visited Borough Market in London I was just so JEALOUS that Boston didn’t have ANYTHING close to that.

Well, HALLELUJAH because Boston seems to FINALLY understand the need for a public market a la the locations listed above. It is in the inital planning stages, and won’t be opened for at least another year or two, but hey, at least we’re finally GETTING somewhere. Read the story here. If you are interested in helping support the creation of a year round public market in Boston, you can find more information here.

Anyway, I am lucky to have a Farmer’s Market right across the street from my office, so every Tuesday and Thursday I load up on fresh fruits and veggies (and occationally bread and cheese) and go to town on them. I recently spotted these beauties:

and I was VERY excited to bring them home and cook them up. I hollowed them out, stuffed some cous cous and other assorted items, stuck it in the oven and BAM! Amazing and healthy dinner.

Stuffed Zucchini

  • 4 Globe Zucchini *
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 cup couscous
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1 tbsp chopped rosemary
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1/4 chopped red onion
  • 1/2 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 tomato
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 cooked chicken sausage links (I used spinach and feta)

*Note: I used only 2 globe zucchinis but I had enough filling left over that you could easily make 4 of them

First, take your zuccini’s and hollow them out. Don’t scrape too much of the meat out, but make sure you at least get rid of all the seeds. Discard the innards. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and cook the zucchini for 15 minutes.

While the zucchini is cooking get everything else together. Combine the chicken broth, and butter into a small sauce pan and bring to a boil. Stir in couscous and remove from heat, cover, and let sit for 5 minutes.

In another saute pan, coat with extra virgin olive oil and add the garlic and stir until the garlic is slightly brown, about 1 or 2 minutes. Add the onion and pepper and cook an additional 3 minutes, until soft. Add the sausage and stir until the sausage is warmed through, maybe another minute or 2. Grab a medium size bowl and combine the cooked bits and the couscous. Add the lemon juice, rosemary and tomatos and mix together.

Stuff your zucchini with as much filling as possible.

Stick it in the oven for another 15 minutes. I served mine with a side of arugula salad with tomatos, onions, and balsamic vinegar. It’s definitely one filling meal!

3 Responses to “Stuffed Zucchini & Why Farmers Markets are Awesome”

  1. Chef Dennis August 3, 2010 at 7:44 pm #

    now thats a new one for me, I have never seen globe zucchini! They are just perfect to stuff, the cous cous with the chicken sausage must have been delicious in those little beauties! what a perfect meal for a cool summers evening, sitting outside with a nice glass of wine!

    • Ciaochowlinda August 6, 2010 at 4:34 am #

      So funny – I just posted a recipe with globe zucchini. I love your cous cous version.

  2. Jenny August 7, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    So cute! Looks yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

