Turkey Pesto Meatballs

21 Jul

I love me some meatballs. When my Momma would make meatballs, she always made a huge pot of them (She tends to make a lot of everything really), and every time I would walk past the pot I would dive in for a meatball. They were just THAT good.

These are NOT my Momma’s meatballs, but they are still pretty delicious. My Mom would make beef meatballs, and these are turkey. Although I think this recipe would taste delicious made with either beef, turkey, chicken, even lamb. You can buy store bought pesto but ever since I made my own homemade pesto, I haven’t gone back (Although, I have to admit, Whole Foods makes a delicious pesto). But I digress…

Turkey Pesto Meatballs

Adapted from Baked Bree’s Turkey Pesto Meatballs

  • 2lbs ground turkey breast
  • 1.5 cups bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup pesto (recipe to follow)
  • 1/3 cup grated Parmesan
  • 2 egg whites
  • Salt, to taste
  • Pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mix everything together in a big bowl. Take a large baking sheet and stick a wire rack on top. Roll into 1 inch balls and place on wire rack. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until meatballs are browned. Serve over pasta or in a sandwich.

BONUS RECIPE!

Homemade Pesto

  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 5 cups of basil
  • 1 cup grated Parmesan
  • 1.5 cups Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste

Combine pine nuts, garlic, basil and Parmesan in a food processor. While the food processor is on, slowly add the olive oil until fully combined. Add salt and pepper. Serve immediately or chill in the refrigerator.

One Response to “Turkey Pesto Meatballs”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Meatball Pizza « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit - October 2, 2010

    […] Oct Remember those turkey meatballs I blogged about a few months back? I make them A LOT and I always forget to cut down the recipe so […]

Leave a Reply

