Why Disney Isn’t the Happiest Place on Earth

2 Jul

I just got back from the happiest place on Earth, and it isn’t Disney. Nope, it’s a little camp based in Casco, Maine, called Camp Sunshine and I look forward to coming to this Camp EVERY.SINGLE.YEAR. I talk about it incessantly to my friends, and yet I feel that they don’t truly understand how much I love this place. Unless they have been there themselves. It’s magic.

More specifically, I usually go to the same week every year. You see, Camp Sunshine is a camp for families with children who have life threatening illnesses. The week that I go to is for the disease called Fanconi Anemia, a rare blood disease that has no cure. I love coming to FA Week because it’s the same group of families and volunteers that go every.single.year. I love these families like they are my own. I would do anything for them, and I would do anything to help them.

Tell me you can’t look at these faces and not immediately fall in love?

So what does this have to do with food? Well, I decided to bake something delicious (and easy!) to bring up to camp. The answer? Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars. After a quick Google search I found a really easy recipe over on Eat At Allie’s that I really enjoyed and they came out delicious and everyone at camp gobbled them up. So enjoy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

Adapted from Eat at Allie’s Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

  • 2  1/8 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 12 tablespoons butter (1 1/2 sticks), melted and cooled slightly
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.
Line a 9X13-inch baking pan with parchment paper (or foil), letting the excess hang over the edges of the pan by about 1 inch. Spray with non-stick cooking spray.

Whisk the flour, salt, and baking soda together in medium bowl; set aside.

Mix the melted butter and sugars in a large bowl until combined. Add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla and mix well. Add the dry ingredients into the egg mixture and stir until just combined. Then fold in the chocolate chips.

Press the batter into the pan and stick it in the oven until the top is golden brown and slightly firm to the touch. Should take about 20-25 minutes. Make sure they cool completely before you cut them up.

In my haste to get them packaged up before my husband ate them all, I neglected to take a pretty artistic picture of them all cut up nice. So this is what you get for the finished product.

Uncooked, but you get the picture. They were delicious, gooey and I would make them again in a heartbeat. And they were so simple to make, especially since I had absolutely no time the day before I left for camp. Enjoy and have an awesome 4th of July!


2 Responses to “Why Disney Isn’t the Happiest Place on Earth”

  1. Allie July 2, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    So glad that the Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars were a hit for you! I think I will be making another batch myself soon 🙂 I love the story about Camp Sunshine. That is so awesome of you to give of yourself to those campers!

    • kitchenmisfit July 2, 2010 at 4:49 pm #

      Thanks so much for the awesome recipe! I’m definitely going to make them again soon!

Leave a Reply

