Roast Chicken Deliciousness

24 Jun

So I just got finished reading Anthony Bourdain’s sequel to Kitchen ConfidentialMedium Raw. Let’s get something straight here. I freaking *LOVE* Anthony Bourdain. I want to *BE* him. I want *MY* job to be jaunting around the world, eating anything and everything, and then documenting it on TV. And get paid to be kind of an a$$hole in the process.

But I can’t, and I’m not, so I just have to live vicariously through him by reading his books, watching his TV show, and maybe going to his former restaurant Les Halles (Yes, I’ve been there. And I saw Carlos. And I might have been a little giddy about it. Shaddup.)

But I digress. Before Bourdain became a hot shot round-the-world traveler, he was a chef for a very very long time. He talks about how people have forgotten how to cook the basics, and that basically every man, woman and child should at least have some rudimentary skills in the kitchen. At one point, he quotes:

“Everyone should be able to roast a chicken. And they should be able to do it well.”

I think I’ve done good by Anthony, if I do say so myself. Although to be honest, I first became enamored with roast chicken when I saw Ina Garten do it on Barefoot Contessa (Another person I am obsessed with, but let’s leave that for another post shall we?) Roast chicken is great because you can do it a million different ways. Here’s mine

Roast Chicken with Vegetables

Adapted from Ina Garten’s Perfect Roast Chicken

  • 1 (5 to 6 pound) roasting chicken
  • Kosher salt
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 large bunch fresh dill
  • 1 lemon, halved
  • 1 head garlic, cut in half crosswise
  • 2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) butter, melted
  • 1 large yellow onion, thickly sliced
  • 4 carrots cut into 2-inch chunks
  • 3 lbs of red bliss potatoes
  • 2 zucchinis
  • 2 yellow squash
  • Olive oil

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

First up: Veggies – Cut and chop all your veggies and place in roasting pan. Place a couple of sprigs of dill in the pan as well. Toss liberally with salt, pepper and olive oil.

Mmmmmm, veggies.

Next, the chicken – Remove all the nasty bits inside and wash the chicken inside and out and pat dry. Sprinkle the inside of the chicken with salt and pepper. Cut the garlic clove in half as well as the lemon. Shove it all inside the chicken along with another handful of the dill sprigs. Fold it up nicely and tie the drumsticks together with kitchen string and tuck the wings underneath. Take your melted butter and a brush and go to town on the chicken, because that is what gives you the awesomeness that is crunchy skin. Place the chicken (breast side up people!) on top of the veggies, and stick it in the oven for 1.5 hours, or until the juices run clean when you slice into it.

Chicken – Sliced                                  Vegetables – Diced

Once the chicken is finished, take it out of the oven and let it rest for 20 minutes, covering it with aluminum foil. Then, chop it all up and serve!

Now if only Anthony Bourdain would read this and take me on as his assistant. A girl can dream, right?

One Response to “Roast Chicken Deliciousness”

  1. brannyboilsover June 24, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    You’re right – this is a meal a home cook should definitely have in his/her repertoire.

Leave a Reply

