A Whole Lotta Falafel

18 Jun

I’m pretty sure falafel runs through my veins (I should probably get that checked). My Mom makes some awesome Lebanese food (And she’s not even Lebanese!) so I’m hoping to follow in her footsteps. I’ve been playing around with this falafel recipe for a long time now, and I think I’ve finally got it right this time. My husband told me it was the best falafel I’d made so far. Now THAT’S saying something. I think the reason why it came out so good this time around is thanks to both the flavors, but also the fact that I made them into tiny balls, rather than the patties I had made prior.

Mix up some Tahini sauce, cut up some cucumbers and tomatoes (I forgot the cucumbers this time around) and if you are feeling up to it, whip up some hummus, slap it all together in a pita and there you are!

Baked Falafel

Amount varied

  • 29oz chickpeas, drained (I used a large Goya can)
  • 1tbsp parsley, dried
  • 2tsp cumin
  • 1/4tsp red pepper
  • 1/4tsp coriander
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2tsp onion powder
  • 1tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 cup of all purpose flour
  • squeeze of lemon

Preheat oven to 375. Combine all ingredients in food processor (if you like your falafel chunkier, use a potato masher).

Before Mashing:

After Mashing:

Using a 1.5″ scooper, roll falafel mixture into balls and place on a greased baking sheet. Bake for 20 minutes and let cool.

Next up, make the tahini sauce. What’s great about the tahini sauce is that you can tailor it to your liking by adding more garlic, lemon juice or tahini (I personally like more tahini). I used regular fat free yogurt for this recipe, but next time I’m going to try Greek Yogurt since it’s a lot thicker.

Tahini Sauce

  • 6oz plain fat free yogurt
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 2tbsp tahini

Combine all ingredients and voila, amazing tahini sauce.

Next up assemble your sandwiches. Cut up a few tomatoes and cucumbers to add to your sandwich. I recommend using some thick pita bread, otherwise you risk your sandwich falling apart, like you can see in my finished product. I have a recipe for homemade pita bread that I’m dying to try so we shall see.

And there you have it! Delicious (and nutritious) falafel. Enjoy!

4 Responses to “A Whole Lotta Falafel”

  1. brannyboilsover June 19, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    Mmm. Classic. Love your tahini sauce recipe. Might try that out. Have fun blogging!

  2. jenna June 19, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    yum! i have always been too much of a wimp to make falafel from scratch. i am excited to try your recipe!

  3. Jenn July 6, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    I’m going to have to try this one!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 in Review « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit - December 31, 2010

    […] In June I started this blog! I had always been interested in cooking and I wasn’t very good at baking, so I decided to start a blog in order to enhance my skills. Looking back on where I started I think I’ve come a long way! Check out my first post here: Baked Falafel. […]

Leave a Reply

