Cream Cheese Coffee Cake – Bloggers Bake for Hope

19 Apr

Guys and gals, I need to tell you about a fantastic thing going on that I’m super proud to be a part of.

Cara from Cara’s Cravings and Jen from Beantown Baker are hosting a virtual baking sale to benefit Massachusetts Komen for the Cure. Breast cancer is something that is very prevalent in my family so I’m all for supporting this wonderful cause.

The rules of the bake sale are pretty simple. Bloggers Bake for Hope will take place between May 4-6. You’ll have the chance to bid on LOADS of baked goods (from at least 35 bloggers so far, check out some of the submissions). All proceeds will go to Komen for the Cure. Minimum bids start at $15.

Think about it. Who doesn’t love to eat baked goods? And sometimes you just don’t want to bake them yourself. And the best part is that it goes to a good cause! Win win for everyone! I’ll even let you tell people YOU made it. I’m that generous.

So what am I making you may ask? Well, it’s no secret that I love America’s Test Kitchen. I follow them on Twitter, I like them on Facebook. I have a magazine subscription to Cook’s Illustrated and I also have a membership to the website. I just bought their Slow Cooker Revolution cookbook. I watch their show every weekend.

Let’s just say I have dreams of working in the Test Kitchen. It’s kind of a big deal. And they are located in Brookline and sometimes when I pass by the Test Kitchen I want to knock on the door to see if Chris Kimball will answer.

So when I was thinking of what I wanted my submission to be, I knew I didn’t want to go the cookie or brownie route since there were already A LOT of those (not that it’s a bad thing!). I wanted to stand out in the crowd, if you catch my drift. Then I thought about an episode I watched recently where they featured a Cream Cheese Coffee Cake. It was perfect! Out of the box, but still able to be shipped easily. And based on the episode, it looked DELICIOUS.

I didn’t have a tube pan, so I had to use my bundt pan, but I still like how it came out. (Which reminds me, I need to get a tube pan now!) Beautiful swirls of cream cheese filling, and the lemon in the recipe just makes everything POP! And the almond lemon sugar mix that goes on top? Almost makes me want to bid on it for myself.

I’m going to be an evil little food blogger and NOT post the recipe. You can most certainly get it if you subscribe to America’s Test Kitchen. BUT, if you DO win this lovely cake for Bloggers Bake for Hope, I’ll include the recipe for you.

Sneaky, aren’t I?

So DON’T FORGET to head on over to Bloggers Bake for Hope May 4-6 and BID BID BID!!!

11 Responses to “Cream Cheese Coffee Cake – Bloggers Bake for Hope”

  1. Renee April 19, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    Wow! You may have just convinced me on which dessert I will be bidding on :)

  2. Megan April 19, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    I’m pretty sure it’s every Boston Food Blogger’s dream to work at America’s Test Kitchen! I just took out two of their books from the library and have almost read both of them front to back.

    I like that you’re doing something different than cookies or brownies–especially if it’s cake. And especially if it’s from America’s Test Kitchen ;)

    yum yum yum!

  3. Elizabeth April 19, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    I am SO bidding on these. I love cream cheese coffee cake. It looks delicious!

  4. Emily @ A Cambridge Story April 19, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    Wow. This is a masterpiece! Almost too pretty to eat! Chris Kimball is also my hero :)

  5. Melissa April 19, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    This looks so good! Excellent photos! I can practically smell this cake…

  6. Megan April 19, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

    This sounds like a wonderful submission! If Kimball ever answers, tell him to respond to my emails. :)

  7. Ashleigh April 19, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    Amanda, that looks delicious!! Awesome photography too!

  8. Shannon April 20, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    wow, i might just have to bid in addition to bake :) fabulous!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mazurek – Polish Easter Cake « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit - April 27, 2011

    [...] Don’t forget! Bloggers Bake for Hope Virtual Bake Sale is May 2-4. I’m making a Cream Cheese Coffee Cake from America’s Test Kitchen and there are TONS of other delicious offerings! Don’t [...]

  2. Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit - May 3, 2011

    [...] me to America’s Test Kitchen and their Perfect Chocolate Chip Cookies. You’ve heard me wax poetic about how much I love America’s Test Kitchen. So when I learned that they were holding a contest for Boston Food Bloggers and their recipe for [...]

  3. Pride & Passion 2011 « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit - May 5, 2011

    [...] Remember that Cream Cheese Coffee Cake I made for Bloggers Bake for Hope? YOU CAN NOW BID ON IT!! So what are you waiting for?!?? BID BID [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

