Cincinnati Chili

10 Apr

When you think of chili, obviously the first thing that comes to your mind is spaghetti, right?

I was reading an older issue of Bon Appetit magazine where they were talking about all the different chili’s that are found around the U.S. and the one that intrigued me the most was Cincinnati Chili. The obviously weird part about it is the spaghetti, but you know what? It works.

Also, you can’t really tell by the pictures, but it’s a thinner chili. The juices soak into the spaghetti so you always have a bite of the chili and it just intensifies as it soaks. I also really liked the spices that were used, which made the chili sweeter, which is a lot different from its spicier cousin, Chili con Carne.

I’ve never been to Cincinnati myself, but I can get behind their version of chili!

P.S. Have you “Liked” me on Facebook yet? I hope so, but in case you haven’t, give a click over on the side of this post and it’ll make me really happy.

Cincinnati Style Chili

As found in the Feb 2011 Bon Appetit issue

  • 4 tbsp olive oil, divided
  • 3 cups chopped onions
  • 6 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 3lbs ground lamb
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa
  • 1.5 tsp ground allspice
  • 1.5 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1.5 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 4 2/3 cups beef broth, divided
  • 1/3 cup tomato paste
  • 3 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1.5 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp dried oregano
  • 1 tbsp packed brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 4 tbsp fresh parsley, divided
  • 1 lb spaghetti, cooked
  • 2 15-oz cans kidney beans
  • 1 cup chopped gouda cheese

Heat 2 tbsp oil in skillet over medium heat. Add onions and cook about 10 minutes. Add garlic and cook additional minute. Add lamb and cook until browned. Add cocoa, allspice, cinnamon, pepper and cloves and stir another 3 minutes. Stir in 4 cups of broth, tomato paste, vinegar, chili powder, oregano, brown sugar and Worcestershire sauce .

Bring to a boil and reduce to medium-low heat. Simmer uncovered for about an hour, until thickened. Spoon off the fat every couple of minutes. Stir often.

Thin the broth with the remaining broth. Stir in 2 tbsp parsley.

In a large bowl, combine the spaghetti and the beans along with remaining 2 tbsp oil. Season with salt and pepper.

Place individual bowls of spaghetti, pile the chili, and then add additional chopped onions and gouda cheese.

9 Responses to “Cincinnati Chili”

  1. Megan April 10, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    I made the chill con carne from that issue! I actually love serving chili over egg noodles and am sure I would love spaghetti too.

  2. Bunny Eats Design April 10, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    That sounds like lots of interesting spices used. I only learned of the term “chili mac” the other day. Chili is usually eaten on top of nacho chips here in New Zealand, not with pasta. Pasta and chili is delicious but I wonder where the origins of chili mac come from?The pairing of pasta and chili is foreign yet comforting to me.

  3. Emily @ A Cambridge Story April 11, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    Great photos! I love egg noodles and chili too!

  4. Jenn April 12, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    So, I have to ask – did you point-track this for WW?? Are you still doing WW? Because this looks amazing, but is WAY too many points for me! :(

    • kitchenmisfit April 12, 2011 at 11:30 am #

      I think I might have made it before I started WW’s. heh. But I think you can make some substitutions to make it more WW’s friendly :)

  5. Renee {Eat.Live.Blog.} May 8, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    I just made this chili using your recipe as a guide. It was phenomenal! I am passing it along to my dad for them to make at his cafe and will blog about it soon! Thanks for the inspiration!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. $20 to Spend on Gourmet Hot Dogs | 4 Real Cheap - April 11, 2011

    […] Cincinnati Chili […]

  2. Almost Cinicinnati Style Chili Recipe « Eat.Live.Blog. - May 13, 2011

    […] sell Ryan on a) Chili and b) Chili with different seasonings served over spaghetti! Well, my friend Amanda’s post set my craving over the edge, and last Sunday, while Ryan napped off our drive home from a beautiful […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

