Brie and Fig Pizza

20 Aug

I love making homemade pizza. Don’t get me wrong, there are some fantastic pizza places in my area (Pino’s & Presto’s to name a few) but sometimes it doesn’t get any better than a homemade pizza. The possibilities are endless and it only ends with your imagination. It’s just about as easy as picking up the phone and ordering one.

When I first started making homemade pizza I usually bought the dough at Whole Foods or Trader Joe’s. Then one day I actually made pizza dough and never looked back. As of right now my go-to pizza recipe is straight from the King Arthur Flour Site. It’s pretty straightforward, but I have to admit the instructions get a little too complicated to my taste. After the intial rise for the dough I wrap it tightly in plastic wrap and let it sit in the refridgerator overnight. Usually I make the pizza during the week so when I get home from work I’ll take the dough out of the fridge and let it sit out for about 30-45 minutes, until the dough is maleable. Then preheat the oven to 450 degrees and using my pizza stone I spray it with some cooking spray and throw a little flour on and shape my pizza dough. Sometimes I go for a traditional round but other times I feel like being more organic and just shape it until it covers the whole stone. Then I stick it in the oven for about 10 minutes. By precooking the dough, it has proved to be chewier and generally tastes better. Plus, if I’m using wetter ingredients it doesn’t seep through the dough and I don’t have to cook my ingredients as long.

The inspiration for this particular pizza is from a local restaurant called Figs, which is a Todd English restaurant. You see, they have an amazing Fig & Prosciutto pizza that is out of this world. The Mr. and I took our mothers there for Mother’s Day, and they raved about the pizza. Everytime we come here we order the same pizza. It’s so fabulous that we can’t even bother looking at the rest of the menu. This take on the pizza is a little different as I used a different fig paste and used Brie instead of Gorgonzola. It came out great and I was tempted to eat the entire pizza.

Fig & Brie Pizza

  • 5 or 6 dried figs, sliced thin (fresh is also good and reccomended, but didn’t have any when I went to Whole Foods, drats!)
  • 1 wedge of Brie - About half a cup
  • 4 or 5 slices of prosciutto
  • Fig jam or similar (I used one with orange and fig)
  • pizza dough

After shaping and baking your pizza dough, take it out of the oven and spread the fig jam liberally on the crust. Use the whole jar if you want! Next layer the sliced figs followed by the prosciutto and finally the brie. Drizzle with a little olive oil if you feel like it.

Stick in the oven for another 10-15 minutes – Until the brie is browned and gooey. Let stand for about 10 minutes until it has cooled down enough to cut through. Stuff self silly.

13 Responses to “Brie and Fig Pizza”

  1. Jenn August 20, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    MMMM.

    We made a Buffalo Chicken Pizza (also from scratch) on Sunday that was AMAZING. I might have to try this one!

    • kitchenmisfit August 20, 2010 at 9:20 am #

      LOVE Buffalo Chicken Pizza! Joe doesn’t really like spicy food, but I may have to make it anyway!

  2. Jenny August 20, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    OMG looks sooo good! I need to get a pizza stone. I usually make my pizza on a baking sheet and it’s never crispy.

    • kitchenmisfit August 20, 2010 at 9:20 am #

      We got one as a wedding gift, but they are definitely a good investment!

      • Jenn August 20, 2010 at 9:23 am #

        I agree! We didn’t even wait for the wedding – we bought one and are so glad we did!

  3. foodies at home August 20, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    Mmmmm great combination of flavors! Anything with brie has got me sold!

  4. Piedro August 25, 2010 at 6:52 am #

    This pizza looks so yummy to me and as the figs are now ripe in the garden I will surely give it a try over the weekend. Thank you for this nice share.

  5. Sophia August 25, 2010 at 10:17 am #

    I’ve seen so many recipes lately for pizzas! So far, I think yours must be the best! The other one I really like is Mexican Pizza -http://www.recipe4living.com/recipes/mexican_pizza.htm – What do you think? Thanks again for sharing this delicious pizza recipe!

    • kitchenmisfit August 25, 2010 at 10:27 am #

      Mexican pizza sounds very tasty! Definitely will have to give that one a try as well. Glad you liked the pizza!

  6. Kithenstance August 25, 2010 at 10:55 am #

    This looks amazing. I love the photo of the pizza before it goes into the oven…. you can tell that brie is gonna get all gooey and delicious!!

  7. heather August 25, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    you got me here. i have fig, sausage and feta pizza on the menu for friday night — maybe we’ll have to make two pizzas so we can try this one, too! brie makes everything better, right?

    cheers,

    *heather*

    • kitchenmisfit August 25, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

      I think cheese in general makes everything better! But definitely Brie!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shrimp & Portobello Quesadilla « Tales From A Kitchen Misfit - January 25, 2011

    [...] quesadilla (pepperoni to continue the pizza analogy). Pretty soon you’re branching out with Fig and Bree Pizza. Or, in this case, Shrimp and Portobello Mushroom [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

